# ghd vs T3 vs BaBylissPRO flat irons

Source: https://plateandwand.com/blog/ghd-vs-t3-vs-babyliss
Published: 2026-10-09
Publisher: Plate & Wand

**Short answer:** ghd fixes heat at 365F on ceramic plates (Platinum+, $222.99). T3 uses CeraGloss ceramic plates with 9 heat settings and auto world voltage (SinglePass StyleMax, $179.99). BaBylissPRO uses nano titanium plates with the widest heat range, up to 50 settings and 450F on the Ultra Thin, and up to 465F on the dual voltage TrueTension. Pick by how much heat control you want.

ghd, T3 and BaBylissPRO are three of the premium flat iron brands people compare most. Each takes a different approach to heat: ghd sets it for you, T3 gives you a handful of settings, and BaBylissPRO gives you the most range. This page is for buyers deciding which philosophy suits their hair. We compare one or two representative irons from each brand on heat control, plate material and voltage, using only listing facts. For more models, see our [best flat irons guide](https://plateandwand.com/best/best-flat-iron).

## Three approaches to heat

**ghd** removes the choice. The Platinum+ is locked at 365F, which ghd calls its stylist-tested sweet spot, and uses sensors to keep the plates at that heat. It is simple, and hard to overheat.

**T3** gives you a short, clear list of options. The SinglePass StyleMax has 9 heat settings and a Curl Mode that the listing says optimizes temperature for waving and curling with reduced heat exposure.

**BaBylissPRO** offers the most range. The Ultra Thin has 50 settings up to 450F, and the TrueTension reaches 465F. That suits coarse and very curly hair, but it also means more responsibility to choose a sensible setting.

## Spec table from the listings

All four irons have 1 inch plates. Every entry comes from the Amazon listing for that model.

| Feature | ghd Platinum+ | T3 SinglePass StyleMax | BaBylissPRO Ultra Thin | BaBylissPRO TrueTension |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Listed price | $222.99 | $179.99 | $179.99 | $199.99 |
| Plates | Ceramic, floating | CeraGloss ceramic, longer plates | Nano titanium, 5 inch | Nano titanium, full-floating |
| Heat control | Locked at 365F | 9 settings plus Curl Mode | 50 settings up to 450F | Up to 465F |
| Voltage | Universal | Auto world voltage | Not stated | 120V/240V dual |
| Auto shut-off | 30 minutes | 1 hour | Not stated | 60 minutes |
| Notable extra | Ultra-Zone sensing | Curl Mode | 1 lb, 9 ft swivel cord | Electromagnetic plate tension |

ghd vs T3 vs BaBylissPRO, listing facts

## Plate materials

ghd and T3 use ceramic plates. Ceramic is commonly described as heating evenly and gliding smoothly, which is why it is often suggested for fine, medium and color-treated hair. BaBylissPRO uses nano titanium, which its listings describe as conducting high heat and resisting corrosion. Titanium is often paired with thick, coarse and textured hair that needs higher heat. Our [ceramic vs titanium](https://plateandwand.com/blog/ceramic-vs-titanium-flat-iron) comparison goes deeper.

Plate length differs too. The BaBylissPRO Ultra Thin lists 5 inch plates for fewer passes, and T3 describes the StyleMax plates as longer. The TrueTension uses electromagnetic technology to keep plate tension consistent, which BaBylissPRO says gives smoother, even passes.

## Voltage and travel

Three of the four list worldwide use: ghd Platinum+ (universal voltage), T3 StyleMax (auto world voltage) and BaBylissPRO TrueTension (120V/240V dual voltage). The Ultra Thin listing does not state voltage. If you travel abroad, check your iron before you pack it; our [dual voltage explainer](https://plateandwand.com/blog/dual-voltage-explained) explains why it matters and our [dual voltage tools guide](https://plateandwand.com/best/best-dual-voltage-hair-tools) lists options.

## Which brand fits which hair

These are starting points, not rules. Hair that is thick but fragile may still do better at lower heat on ceramic. See our picks for [thick hair](https://plateandwand.com/best/best-flat-iron-for-thick-hair) and [fine hair](https://plateandwand.com/best/best-flat-iron-for-fine-hair).

- Fine, color-treated or easily damaged hair: T3, because you can choose a low setting on ceramic plates.
- Medium hair and people who want no decisions: ghd, with its fixed 365F.
- Thick, coarse or very curly hair: BaBylissPRO, for nano titanium and heat up to 450F or 465F.
- Frequent international travel: ghd Platinum+, T3 StyleMax or BaBylissPRO TrueTension, which all list worldwide voltage.

## Safety and everyday handling

Auto shut-off times vary. The ghd Platinum+ sleeps after 30 minutes, the T3 StyleMax lists a 1-hour auto-off, and the BaBylissPRO TrueTension shuts off after 60 minutes of non-use. The Ultra Thin listing does not state a shut-off, so check the manual. If you tend to forget your iron, the shorter cut-off is a real benefit.

Weight and cord matter in long sessions. The BaBylissPRO Ultra Thin lists 1 pound and a 9 foot swivel cord. The TrueTension describes a lightweight, slim profile with an LED display. Neither the ghd nor the T3 listing gives a weight. A swivel cord and a comfortable grip often matter more than a few ounces once you are styling thick hair section by section. For how-to basics, see [how to use a flat iron](https://plateandwand.com/blog/how-to-use-a-flat-iron).

Price-wise, the T3 StyleMax and BaBylissPRO Ultra Thin share a $179.99 listing, the TrueTension sits at $199.99 and the ghd Platinum+ at $222.99. The spread is small enough that heat control and plate material should decide, not price.

## Frequently asked questions

**Which is better, ghd or BaBylissPRO?** ghd is simpler with fixed 365F heat. BaBylissPRO gives far more heat range on titanium plates. Coarse hair often benefits from BaBylissPRO's range; others may prefer ghd's simplicity.

**Is T3 better than ghd?** T3 lets you choose from 9 settings and lists auto world voltage at a lower price than the Platinum+. ghd fixes heat at 365F. The better pick depends on whether you want settings.

**Which of these is dual voltage?** The ghd Platinum+, T3 SinglePass StyleMax and BaBylissPRO TrueTension all list worldwide voltage. The Ultra Thin listing does not say.

**Do all three brands make curling irons too?** Yes. See our [curling iron guide](https://plateandwand.com/best/best-curling-iron) for ghd, T3 and other barrels.

## Gear guides for this topic

- https://plateandwand.com/best/best-flat-iron
- https://plateandwand.com/best/best-ghd-flat-iron
- https://plateandwand.com/best/best-flat-iron-for-thick-hair
- https://plateandwand.com/best/best-dual-voltage-hair-tools
