Gear guide
Best dual voltage flat irons and curling irons for travel
Picked from Amazon listings, not hands-on tests. How we pick
Top picks at a glance
Compare all picks
Closest match for the job
BaBylissPRO TrueTension 1": 120V/240V flat iron
The listing spells out 120V/240V instead of a vague travel claim.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
Most for the money on paper
T3 SinglePass StyleMax 1": auto world voltage
Auto world voltage is stated, meaning no voltage switch to remember.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
Most complete listing
Bio Ionic Twist 3-in-1: 110V-240V curling set
The listing includes a 0.5 inch wand, a 1 inch tapered wand and a 1.25 inch clip barrel.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
Taking a hot tool abroad goes wrong in two ways. A single-voltage iron plugged into a 230V outlet can fail, and a dual voltage iron still will not fit a foreign socket without the right plug adapter. This guide only includes tools whose Amazon listings state universal, auto world or dual voltage, so you are not guessing from a product photo. It covers flat irons from ghd, T3 and BaBylissPRO, plus a ghd curling iron and a Bio Ionic interchangeable set. For each one we compare tool type, plate or barrel size, the voltage wording on the listing, top temperature and auto shut-off. None of these listings say which plug comes in the box or whether an adapter is included, so check the plug shape for your destination before you fly.
Compare the picks
BaBylissPRO TrueTension 1": 120V/240V flat iron- Tool type
- Flat iron
- Size
- 1 in. plates
- Voltage (as listed)
- 120V/240V dual voltage
- Max temperature
- 465°F
T3 SinglePass StyleMax 1": auto world voltage- Tool type
- Flat iron
- Size
- 1 in. plates
- Voltage (as listed)
- Auto world voltage
- Max temperature
- Not stated
Bio Ionic Twist 3-in-1: 110V-240V curling set- Tool type
- Curling iron and wand set
- Size
- 0.5 in. wand, 1 in. tapered, 1.25 in. clip
- Voltage (as listed)
- 110V-240V
- Max temperature
- 430°F
BaBylissPRO Digital Ultra-Thin 1.5": dual voltage- Tool type
- Flat iron
- Size
- 1.5 in. plates
- Voltage (as listed)
- Dual voltage
- Max temperature
- 450°F
ghd Platinum+ 1": universal voltage, fixed 365°F- Tool type
- Flat iron
- Size
- 1 in. plates
- Voltage (as listed)
- Universal voltage
- Max temperature
- 365°F (fixed)
ghd Curve Soft Curl 1.25": universal voltage iron- Tool type
- Curling iron (clamp)
- Size
- 1.25 in. barrel
- Voltage (as listed)
- Universal voltage
- Max temperature
- 365°F (fixed)
ghd Gold 1": universal voltage, 25-second heat-up- Tool type
- Flat iron
- Size
- 1 in. plates
- Voltage (as listed)
- Universal voltage
- Max temperature
- 365°F (fixed)
ghd Mini Styler 0.5": compact, universal voltage- Tool type
- Flat iron (mini)
- Size
- 0.5 in. plates
- Voltage (as listed)
- Universal voltage
- Max temperature
- Not stated
| Pick | Tool type | Size | Voltage (as listed) | Max temperature | Price | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
BaBylissPRO TrueTension 1": 120V/240V flat iron | Flat iron | 1 in. plates | 120V/240V dual voltage | 465°F | - | Amazon |
T3 SinglePass StyleMax 1": auto world voltage | Flat iron | 1 in. plates | Auto world voltage | Not stated | - | Amazon |
Bio Ionic Twist 3-in-1: 110V-240V curling set | Curling iron and wand set | 0.5 in. wand, 1 in. tapered, 1.25 in. clip | 110V-240V | 430°F | - | Amazon |
BaBylissPRO Digital Ultra-Thin 1.5": dual voltage | Flat iron | 1.5 in. plates | Dual voltage | 450°F | - | Amazon |
ghd Platinum+ 1": universal voltage, fixed 365°F | Flat iron | 1 in. plates | Universal voltage | 365°F (fixed) | - | Amazon |
ghd Curve Soft Curl 1.25": universal voltage iron | Curling iron (clamp) | 1.25 in. barrel | Universal voltage | 365°F (fixed) | - | Amazon |
ghd Gold 1": universal voltage, 25-second heat-up | Flat iron | 1 in. plates | Universal voltage | 365°F (fixed) | - | Amazon |
ghd Mini Styler 0.5": compact, universal voltage | Flat iron (mini) | 0.5 in. plates | Universal voltage | Not stated | - | Amazon |
Facts are taken from each Amazon listing. Prices are checked daily and shown with their date.
The picks in detail

Pick 1 · BaBylissPRO
BaBylissPRO TrueTension 1": 120V/240V flat iron
See price on AmazonA 1 inch digital flat iron with the clearest voltage statement here: 120V/240V for worldwide use, plus heat up to 465°F and a 60-minute auto shut-off.
What the listing offers
- The listing spells out 120V/240V instead of a vague travel claim.
- Top heat of 465°F gives room for thick or coarse hair on the road.
- Automatic shut-off after 60 minutes of non-use is stated.
Limits to know
- The listing does not say how many heat settings there are.
- No plug type or adapter is mentioned, so pack the right adapter for your destination.

Pick 2 · T3
T3 SinglePass StyleMax 1": auto world voltage
See price on AmazonT3's 1 inch ceramic flat iron with auto world voltage, 9 heat settings and a Curl Mode. A good single tool for a trip where you want to straighten and curl.
What the listing offers
- Auto world voltage is stated, meaning no voltage switch to remember.
- 9 heat settings plus a Curl Mode for waving and curling.
- 1-hour auto-off is listed for safety in unfamiliar hotel rooms.
Limits to know
- Maximum temperature is not stated on the listing.
- Plug type and travel case are not mentioned.

Pick 3 · BIO IONIC
Bio Ionic Twist 3-in-1: 110V-240V curling set
See price on AmazonOne base with three swappable ceramic barrels, six heat settings to 430°F and dual voltage. It suits people who change curl size often or travel.
What the listing offers
- The listing includes a 0.5 inch wand, a 1 inch tapered wand and a 1.25 inch clip barrel.
- Six heat settings to 430°F with a digital LED display, temperature lock and memory are listed.
- Universal 110V-240V voltage, glove, cool tip, 9 ft swivel cord and 1-year limited warranty are listed.
Limits to know
- The listing does not say how long before auto shut-off engages.
- None of the Twist barrels is described as long, unlike the Long Barrel line.

Pick 4 · BaBylissPRO
BaBylissPRO Digital Ultra-Thin 1.5": dual voltage
See price on AmazonA 1.5 inch digital flat iron with a dual voltage heater, 5 settings up to 450°F with memory, and a locking clip for storage. Fits medium to long hair on the road.
What the listing offers
- Dual voltage heater is stated in the title and features.
- Locking clip is listed as supporting compact storage and travel.
- Memory function saves your preferred temperature across 5 settings up to 450°F.
Limits to know
- Wider 1.5 inch plates take more room in a bag than a 1 inch iron.
- The listing gives no plug type or adapter information.

Pick 5 · ghd
ghd Platinum+ 1": universal voltage, fixed 365°F
See price on Amazonghd's 1 inch styler fixed at 365°F with universal voltage, a heat-resistant plate guard and a rounded barrel that also curls. A no-settings pick for travel.
What the listing offers
- Universal voltage is stated for use anywhere in the world.
- A heat-resistant plate guard is included, handy for packing soon after use.
- Rounded barrel lets one iron straighten, curl and wave, per the listing.
Limits to know
- Fixed temperature, so no way to adjust heat for different hair types.
- Plug type and adapter needs are not covered on the listing.

Pick 6 · ghd
ghd Curve Soft Curl 1.25": universal voltage iron
See price on AmazonA 1.25 inch ceramic curling iron with a spring clamp. The listing says it creates soft waves and voluminous curls on longer hair.
What the listing offers
- 1.25 inch ceramic barrel listed for soft waves on longer hair.
- Spring clamp, cool tip and safety stand are stated.
- Universal voltage and a 2 year warranty, per the listing.
Limits to know
- Fixed 365°F with no adjustable range for finer or coarser hair.
- A standard clamp iron gives a more polished curl than a wand.

Pick 7 · ghd
ghd Gold 1": universal voltage, 25-second heat-up
See price on Amazonghd's 1 inch Gold styler with dual-zone heat at 365°F, universal voltage and a plate guard. The listing calls it travel-friendly, and it costs less than the Platinum+ here.
What the listing offers
- The listing groups universal voltage with an auto sleep mode under travel-friendly features.
- Ready in 25 seconds with an 8.8 ft swivel cord, per the listing.
- Protective plate guard is included for packing.
Limits to know
- Fixed 365°F only, with no lower or higher setting.
- The listing does not cover plug type or adapter needs.

Pick 8 · ghd
ghd Mini Styler 0.5": compact, universal voltage
See price on AmazonA 0.5 inch mini styler with universal voltage, a plate guard and a 2-year manufacturer guarantee. It suits light packers with short hair, bangs or quick touch-ups.
What the listing offers
- Half-inch plates make it the smallest tool in this guide for carry-on packing.
- Universal voltage and a protective plate guard are stated on the listing.
- The listing states a 2 year manufacturer's guarantee.
Limits to know
- Narrow plates make straightening long or thick hair slow.
- The listing's temperature line reads 185º without a unit, so confirm the actual styling heat.
Read before you buy
- How to use the Dyson Corrale straightenerHow to use the Dyson Corrale: its three heat settings, flexing plate technique, cord-free charging, the dock, muting chimes, and flight mode for travel.
- How to travel with a flat iron or curling ironCan you bring a flat iron or curling iron on a plane? Carry-on rules, voltage and plug adapters abroad, cordless battery limits and how to pack hot tools safely.
- ghd vs T3 vs BaBylissPRO flat ironsghd vs T3 vs BaBylissPRO flat irons: fixed 365F, 9 heat settings or up to 50 settings, plus plate materials and voltage, all from the Amazon listings.
- ghd vs CHI flat iron: what the extra money buysghd Platinum+ and Gold vs the CHI Original flat iron: fixed 365F ceramic plates against CHI's popular ceramic iron, with listing facts and unconfirmed specs marked.
- Dyson Corrale vs Airstrait: plates or hot airDyson Corrale vs Airstrait compared from the listings: flexing plates on dry hair against airflow straightening from wet, plus price and who each suits.
Plate & Wand chooses every product independently from what its Amazon listing states. We may earn a commission from the links above. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.