Comparison
ghd Platinum+ vs ghd Gold
Published
Short answer
Both are 1 inch ceramic floating-plate irons fixed at 365F with universal voltage, a plate guard and auto sleep after 30 minutes. The Platinum+ ($222.99) adds Ultra-Zone sensing that reads hair 250 times a second, which ghd links to stronger hair and color protection. The Gold ($194.99) uses dual-zone heat control and lists a 25 second heat-up. Gold covers most needs; Platinum+ is for heavy users.

ghd
ghd Platinum+ 1": rounded barrel for curls and waves
See price on Amazon
ghd
ghd Gold 1": rounded barrel at a lower ghd price
See price on Amazon
ghd Platinum+ 1": rounded barrel for curls and waves- Plate width
- 1 in
- Curl design
- Rounded barrel
- Temperature
- 365°F fixed
- Heat settings
- Fixed
ghd Gold 1": rounded barrel at a lower ghd price- Plate width
- 1 in
- Curl design
- Rounded barrel
- Temperature
- 365°F fixed
- Heat settings
- Fixed
| Pick | Plate width | Curl design | Temperature | Heat settings | Price | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
ghd Platinum+ 1": rounded barrel for curls and waves | 1 in | Rounded barrel | 365°F fixed | Fixed | - | Amazon |
ghd Gold 1": rounded barrel at a lower ghd price | 1 in | Rounded barrel | 365°F fixed | Fixed | - | Amazon |
Facts are taken from each Amazon listing. Prices are checked daily and shown with their date.
Verdict
The ghd Gold suits most people: same 365F, universal voltage and sleep mode for less. Pay for the Platinum+ if you style thick or long hair often and want ghd's faster Ultra-Zone sensing and color protection claims.
The ghd Gold and Platinum+ look alike and run at the same temperature, so it is fair to ask what the extra money buys. This page is for anyone choosing between them. We compare plates, heat control, safety and travel features from each Amazon listing, separate ghd's performance claims from listed specs, and explain which buyers benefit from the upgrade. If you are also considering ghd's newest styler, see our Chronos vs Platinum+ comparison.
Where they are the same
Both irons have 1 inch ceramic floating plates, both are fixed at 365F, and both have a rounded barrel shape for curls and waves. Both list universal voltage, a protective plate guard and an automatic sleep mode after 30 minutes. For most daily straightening, the experience is similar: one temperature, no dial, no settings to remember.
Our ghd temperature explainer covers why ghd uses 365F for both.
Spec table from the listings
Each entry comes from the Amazon listing. Shared features are listed for both.
Listed price
- ghd Platinum+ 1"
- $222.99
- ghd Gold 1"
- $194.99
Plates
- ghd Platinum+ 1"
- Precision-milled ceramic, floating
- ghd Gold 1"
- Smooth ceramic, floating
Heat control
- ghd Platinum+ 1"
- Ultra-Zone, reads hair 250x per second
- ghd Gold 1"
- Dual-zone, consistent 365F across plates
Temperature
- ghd Platinum+ 1"
- Locked at 365F
- ghd Gold 1"
- 365F
Heat-up
- ghd Platinum+ 1"
- Not stated
- ghd Gold 1"
- 25 seconds
Auto sleep
- ghd Platinum+ 1"
- 30 minutes
- ghd Gold 1"
- 30 minutes
Voltage
- ghd Platinum+ 1"
- Universal
- ghd Gold 1"
- Universal
Cord
- ghd Platinum+ 1"
- Not stated
- ghd Gold 1"
- 8.8 ft swivel
| Feature | ghd Platinum+ 1" | ghd Gold 1" |
|---|---|---|
| Listed price | $222.99 | $194.99 |
| Plates | Precision-milled ceramic, floating | Smooth ceramic, floating |
| Heat control | Ultra-Zone, reads hair 250x per second | Dual-zone, consistent 365F across plates |
| Temperature | Locked at 365F | 365F |
| Heat-up | Not stated | 25 seconds |
| Auto sleep | 30 minutes | 30 minutes |
| Voltage | Universal | Universal |
| Cord | Not stated | 8.8 ft swivel |
What Platinum+ adds
The main upgrade is the sensing. ghd says Ultra-Zone technology reads your hair 250 times a second and adjusts power so the heat stays steady from the first pass to the last. ghd claims this gives 70% stronger hair, 75% more shine and up to 2x color protection. Those are ghd's own figures, but the principle is simple: thick sections draw heat out of the plates, and faster sensing brings the temperature back sooner.
The Platinum+ listing also describes precision-milled plates and a wishbone hinge for an even, snag-free glide.
Who notices the difference
People who style thick or long hair daily are the most likely to benefit. Larger sections pull more heat from the plates, so steadier heat can mean fewer passes. If your hair is colored and you style often, ghd's color protection claim may also matter to you.
If your hair is fine to medium, you style a few times a week, or you mostly do quick touch-ups, the Gold's dual-zone control is likely enough. The $28 saving at listed prices can go toward a good heat protectant. Our flat irons for fine hair and thick hair guides cover other options for each.
Curling and styling with either
Both irons are shaped for more than straightening. The Gold listing describes a rounded barrel and contoured design for switching from sleek to curls and waves, and the Platinum+ listing says the same about its rounded barrel. Our how to curl hair with a flat iron guide shows the twist-and-glide technique.
If you curl more than you straighten, a dedicated curling iron may serve you better; see our ghd curling wand guide.
1Clamp near the root
Take a 1 inch section and close the iron on it a few inches from the scalp.
2Half turn away from the face
Rotate the iron 180 degrees so the hair wraps over the top plate.
3Glide down slowly
Keep the turn and slide the iron to the ends at an even, slow pace.
Heat-up, travel and safety
The Gold lists a 25 second heat-up. The Platinum+ listing does not state one, so we cannot compare them on that. Both sleep after 30 minutes of non-use, which protects you if you forget to switch off, and both include a heat-resistant plate guard so you can pack the iron while it is still warm.
Both list universal voltage, which makes either a good travel iron with only a plug adapter. Our dual voltage explainer covers what that means and why a converter is not needed. The Gold's listed 8.8 ft swivel cord gives room to move at a hotel mirror; the Platinum+ listing does not give a cord length.
If your ghd ever flashes or beeps unexpectedly, see ghd flashing red or beeping for common causes.
Choosing on price and use
At listed prices the gap is $28. That is small enough that many people simply buy the Platinum+ for peace of mind. But if the Gold is on offer or you already own one that works, there is little reason to switch for normal use. The two tools share the same temperature, plate width, sleep mode and voltage.
Think about how often you style and how much hair you have. Daily styling of thick, long hair is where steadier heat makes the most sense. Occasional styling of fine or medium hair is where the Gold gives you the ghd experience for less. Read is ghd worth it for the wider value question.
Frequently asked questions
Is the ghd Platinum+ hotter than the Gold? No. Both run at 365F. The Platinum+ differs in how it senses and holds that heat.
Is the ghd Gold dual voltage? Yes. The listing says universal voltage, as does the Platinum+ listing.
Which heats up faster? The Gold lists 25 seconds. The Platinum+ listing does not state a heat-up time.
Should I upgrade from Gold to Platinum+? If your Gold works well, the gain is mainly steadier heat for thick hair. Many people will not need to upgrade.
What you need for this
See price on AmazonAmazonghd Max 2": wide plates at a lower price than Chronos Max
From Best ghd flat irons: Platinum+, Chronos, Gold, Max and more
See price on AmazonAmazonBio Ionic 10X 1": rounded barrel and sonic plates
From Best flat irons for every hair type, compared by plate and heat
See price on AmazonAmazonghd Chronos Max: 2" plates at a fixed 365°F